Holy Day Overture


William Copper


Full Orchestra


Editions, perusal, recordings, and order information below

Dramatic meditation on holy themes for full orchestra. Duration around 15 minutes.

By the composer of Ellen's Alley for Chamber Orchestra and Magnificat for Chorus and Orchestra

Overture in three continuous parts. All notes are given a specific intonation marking, helping the orchestral musicians play in just intonation throughout, including modulations to new tonal centers. The tuning result is the same as would be achieved by a superior orchestra and conductor that are very familiar with the work and extremely sensitive to intonation.

Part One, "The Brooding God", is a meditation on Genesis 1:2, "And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters". Part Two, "The Happy Gods", is from Plato's Phaedrus, "And there are ways to and fro, along which the happy gods are passing". Part Three, "The Compassionate God", is a response to John 1:29, "Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sins of the world".

Editions Available

Score title page HGI 0499 Copper/
Holy Day Overture
Full Score $52.50
HGI 0500 Copper/
Holy Day Overture
Orchestral Parts, Rental $105.00
Full Score
(Perusal, PDF)
Orchestral parts on request.


Copyright 2013 William P. Copper

William Copper bio
School Discount Information
Order Form for Printing


Music Publications
The Hartenshield Group Inc
321 Davis Run Road
McDowell, VA 24458


The Bride
Stabat Mater
Orchestral Works List